Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   what to pick! which civic? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/what-to-pick-which-civic-13278.html)

silversol 02-11-2011 04:11 PM

what to pick! which civic?

Im kinda in a dilima. I have a very clean and nice 99 honda civic ex 2 door automatic. I am a mechanic/bodyman by trade Im currently debating on what to do keep the 99 and do a 5 speed swap on it which will cost me a few hundred bucks. I hate driving a automatic

Or I have found 2 95 4 door 5 speed civics in my area one runs and drives but needs some bodywork/paint. The other has a blown motor but comes with another running motor that needs a head gasket. Im a thinking about trying to pick on one of these 4 doors fix and paint them. Because I will paint either one I get anyway and sell my 99 and put the extra money in my pocket. Both of the 4 doors are in the 500$ range. I know I could probably get better gas mileage out of one of these 4 doors civics

silversol 02-11-2011 04:13 PM

Re: what to pick! which civic?

The only reason Im am considering "downgrading" Is to save as much money as possible money is tight right now!

IndyFetch 02-11-2011 05:43 PM

I'd hang on to the '99 you have now. It sounds like the others need a LOT of work, and you never know what else they need. This goes double for a non-running car.

silversol 02-11-2011 10:21 PM

Like I said I am a mechanic/bodyman. Needing work does not bother me

i-DSi 02-12-2011 01:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silversol (Post 157909)
The only reason Im am considering "downgrading" Is to save as much money as possible money is tight right now!

How much money you think you can save?:
1) how much with a bit lower fuel consumption
2) how much by selling your car - buying other - cost for parts - bringing another car in traffic (taxes)
(not counting the hours you have to work).

Do you really think it is worth it?