Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   beatr911 new here (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/beatr911-new-here-1426.html)

bones33 10-31-2005 10:35 AM

beatr911 new here

Finally stumbled upon a good disscussion and information repository for us fuel economy weenies. When I bought my first car in '82 I had to find a good Datsun 510, legendary race history, bulletproof, and fuel efficient for the time. My friends were in V-8 mustangs, camaros and (gasp)impalas. Funny thing why we took my car to go on trips and skiing each weekend tho. (Still made them pay for gas).

I've been riding motorcycles on the street for 23 years now. It all started because it was fun, with the added bonus of being really cheap to own and operate. Not so much of an advantage now as 4 wheelers have steadily improved fuel efficiency and motorcycles have gotten much more powerful but NOT more fuel efficient. My '84 Kawasaki 550 got 60 mpg no matter what. A modern 600 makes almost twice the power but struggles to get 50 mpg.
Later transportation I had were a '79 rabbit, '78 scirocco, '86 golf, '91 tercel, '72 911, '88 Mazda B2200, and a bicycle (healthiest).

I always tracked mpg figures but couldn't figure out how to decrease the 80% or so of fuel going to waste. My philosophy is that I don't care how much fuel I use as long as I waste as absolutely little as possible. Use only what you need to accomplish the goal. I've always opposed SUVs for that very reason, very few are used for thier designed capabilities or at least pretensions, the rest is just waste. I think it's funny that now people are rediscovering how much better handling (and safer) driving a car is and now the manufacturers are trying (and doing quite well) to make a vehicle look like a truck and drive like a car.
Whatever. Rant mode off. Sorry.