Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   Hello from England, I'm new to Fuelly! (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/hello-from-england-im-new-to-fuelly-21727.html)

Duster2021 08-03-2021 05:58 AM

Hello from England, I'm new to Fuelly!

Hello All,

I have just joined Fuelly today and hoping this will help me improve my MPG purely through the act of logging my information as well as seeing useful tips on the forum for similar cars with similar annual mileage.

I currently have a Vauxhall Corsa SE 2018 1.4L Petrol 5 Speed and have just ordered a new 2021 Dacia Duster Prestige TCe 100 Bi-Fuel to have more leg room, boot space and hopefully save some money in the making by utilising the LPG tank (Never used LPG before but my local filling station has a very low price constantly).

I am very patiently (More like very very impatiently) waiting for my collection date which is 22nd August 2021 or earlier, feeling like a kid at Christmas currently!

I have used MPG calculators in the past to figure out my fuel economy for my Corsa but never recorded it in full, I found the best I could push it too for a 250 mile week was 44 UK MPG (33 US MPG) at a cost of £45.93 ($63.90) although with average driving habits and routes I usually get about 36 UK MPG (30 US MPG) at a cost of £50.48 ($70.22).

I can see that my Duster should get me about 2 UK MPG better fuel economy from petrol which is negligible, but by using LPG I should get 35 UK MPG (29 US MPG) at a cost of only £18.73 ($26.03) due to the low price of LPG and if I assume through normal driving habits I expect the same 18% decrease in MPG I should be looking at around an average of 29 UK MPG (24 US MPG) at a cost of only £22.61 ($31.44)... Fingers crossed I should save around £1,430 ($1,985) per year following the same driving habits, maybe more if I can stick to a good maintenance schedule and driving economically.