Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   Computer geek, actually learning a thing or two about cars... (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f6/computer-geek-actually-learning-a-thing-or-two-about-cars-2746.html)

DracoFelis 08-21-2006 08:40 PM

Computer geek, actually learning a thing or two about cars...

I guess I should do a brief intro (since I've already done some other posts). I'm actually a computer professional (to pay the bills), as well as someone who already has (on some other forums) a reputation as a sort of "expert" on VOIP (i.e. internet based "phone" service).

I recently joined this forum, because I have already been trying to see what I can do to keep the (long term) costs of our family commutes down to a dull roar (and by long term costs, I include spending proper money on maintenance, to cut down on even most costly breakdowns later). After all, between the cost of gas, and the fact that we live away from the main city (i.e. a moderately long commute to/from work, and the timing is such that the two of us can't usually "share the ride"), we naturally spend more than we would like for gas each month (even with the two Hondas in the family). While I have heard various suggestions for improving a car, there is still a lot of "snake oil" out there, and it's actually a royal pain to sort the good advice from the bad.

Which is why I spent a few weeks online (and also talking to a mechanic I know) to start learning the basics of the "technology" that is car work. The way I look at it, is that if I "want a clue" about the real trade-offs in some technical area, I need to learn at least the basics of that tech. So even though I'm still "a computer geek", I think I now "know enough to be dangerous" when it comes to cars...