Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Acetone - good and bad (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/acetone-good-and-bad-4888.html)

ma4t 06-08-2007 06:26 PM

Acetone - good and bad

So I finally decided to try Acetone in my tank. 2 oz per 10 gallons. I was discussing it with a neighbor who works for an auto part manufacturer. He was a bit skeptical. He said that regular use can eat your fuel hoses, but once or twice a year can clean out your system.

This is my first time to try Acetone, so I have no experience. Has anybody noticed any damage from using it? Does my neighbor know what he's talking about? Is he just talking out his butt?

Please let me know what you've experienced. And thanks for being gentle on the newbie.

M

SVOboy 06-08-2007 06:32 PM

I didn't notice any damage, but it's always possible...*shrug*

I also experienced a drop in gas mileage, but I think that's just because the acetone didn't do anything.

repete86 06-08-2007 06:33 PM

Having run acetone constantly for 25k miles, I think that it's pretty safe.

zpiloto 06-08-2007 06:56 PM

This has been covered more than a few times. Here some stuff to look at from a acetone search from the site.

baddog671 06-09-2007 11:40 AM

Alot of brand name fuel injector cleaners use acetone, although I'm sure of the concentration of it. I doubt it would hurt anything since they use it in their stuff.

Plus its only a few onces to many gallons, I would think the gasoline itself would be more "harmful" to components over time than the acetone.

ma4t 06-09-2007 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baddog671 (Post 56233)
Plus its only a few onces to many gallons, I would think the gasoline itself would be more "harmful" to components over time than the acetone.

The recommendation I read was 2 oz. per 10 gallons. That sure doesn't sound like much.