Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Depressing Stats....does the weather really matter that much (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/depressing-stats-does-the-weather-really-matter-that-much-6495.html)

jeffreymccoy 10-26-2007 11:59 AM

Depressing Stats....does the weather really matter that much

Im very new at this, and was feeling great about the gains acheived with aero mods alone. My best tank has been just over 26mpg.

With all mods in place, I was testing at 25.5mpg on a test route.

Now, rain and cooler weather have set in and I only get 20-21 on that stretch of the test route, if I work really hard at it.

Does the weather really have that much to do with my FE? Im really down about the losses over the weather...its discouraging at best, and makes me wanna forget the whole thing at worst. :(

2TonJellyBean 10-26-2007 12:02 PM

How long is the test loop and are you up to temps when you start it?

SVOboy 10-26-2007 12:10 PM

Weather has a lot to do with it, :p, I am tempted to think more so on a big truck that's gotta move a ton of rain/water to get around.

Hockey4mnhs 10-26-2007 12:32 PM

Air temp matters and so does rain. I got my best tank when it was raining for 3 of the 5 days thought i wonder what it could have been if it was nice out.

jeffreymccoy 10-26-2007 01:20 PM

Quote:

How long is the test loop and are you up to temps when you start it?
yep - up to temp, and the loop is 18 miles.

I even installed a quick hot air intake, restored the IAT to 120-130, and still only got 21. sad sad sad.

thanks for the input!

omgwtfbyobbq 10-26-2007 01:38 PM

Pull all the mods off and drive like everyone else ta put it in perspective. ;)

jeffreymccoy 10-26-2007 01:49 PM

Quote:

Pull all the mods off and drive like everyone else ta put it in perspective.