Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Experiments, Modifications and DIY (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   airdam vs screen bellypan (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f9/airdam-vs-screen-bellypan-7550.html)

Philip1 02-14-2008 01:53 AM

airdam vs screen bellypan

I've been running a screen belly pan for about two months now... I think I'll try an extended airdam and rear wheel dams for two months and compare numbers. I am cautiously optimistic that the dams will out perform the screen.

GasSavers_landon 02-14-2008 07:45 AM

Throw caution to the wind! Just be optimistic. :)

GasSavers_SD26 02-14-2008 08:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philip1 (Post 91110)
I've been running a screen belly pan for about two months now... I think I'll try an extended airdam and rear wheel dams for two months and compare numbers. I am cautiously optimistic that the dams will out perform the screen.

What kind of ideas do you have for the rear wheel dams?

k8crd 02-14-2008 01:39 PM

Phil:

Did you make the belly pan yourself or can they be bought?
Do you have any pictures to show us of it installed on your vehicle?

Lapointe told me that he knew of it being used on a Mecedes vehicle. I do not know the year or model.

Paul

Philip1 02-14-2008 02:32 PM

I have Photographs in my garage the rear wheel dams are made of 20 gauge steel and will be painted to match the car. The airdam has not been decided as of yet but I am leaning toward lawn edging since it it urethane and has a stiffening tube in it.

GasSavers_SD26 02-14-2008 03:10 PM

Are you setting up the rear wheel dams to be perpendicular to the direction of travel,canted to force the air out from under, or back under the car? Just curious on which way you're thinking or if you have some insight that you've seen before on it.

Philip1 02-14-2008 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD26 (Post 91162)