Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Maintenance and Repair (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f10/)
-   -   locking gas cap? (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f10/locking-gas-cap-8177.html)

civic94 04-28-2008 06:11 PM

locking gas cap?

just saw the news and gas theft has been going up. they advised that getting the caps would be a good idea, but are those reliable? what if someone pryed it?

also what happens if you loose the key?

2000mc 04-28-2008 06:26 PM

people do lose the key, and sometimes the locking cap fails and will only spin. working as a mechanic, i've been brought these problems. first one took me 10minutes to get off, after a couple i spend as much time gathering a few tools as it takes to remove the caps.

but if someone was going to steal fuel, i think they would skip any vehicle equiped with a locking cap

McPatrick 04-28-2008 08:17 PM

In Europe where gas prices have been higher for like forever pretty much any car built in 1985 and younger has a locking gas cap.
I was very surprised when we got my stepdad's in law 2003 Buick, that it did not have a lcoking gas cap and that you can just open the gas door. And this with a car that holds 20 gallons of gas making it worth the effort to suck up a littel gas before you have it going :)

GasSavers_Ryland 04-28-2008 08:26 PM

I don't thin this would help much on my car, as they have to get in the car to pop open the fuel door, and if they can do that then they might notice the keys sitting on the dash.
The last time I heard about fuel being stolen it was from a hole being drilled in the gas tank, or the drain plug being unscrewed, and this being done on large trucks as you can hide under them with your gas cans.

VetteOwner 04-28-2008 08:49 PM

ya locking gas caps worked in the 70's because noone had cordless drills

NOW thanks to walmart and harbour freight you can buy a cordless drill for $10 and start drillin holes in tanks all you want...