Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   Thoughts about my car... (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/thoughts-about-my-car-8218.html)

hockeyadc 05-01-2008 12:48 PM

Thoughts about my car...

Hey everyone, I just wanted to know what everyone thought about my current situation.

I am a college student, who currently is on co-op(a paid intern) and I drive about 30 miles per day in heavy traffic. Now I have a 2002 ford explorer that EATS gas. My parents bought this car for me and pay the insurance being that I am a college student, and I am very happy for this. Now my problem obviously is that it eats gas like no other, and I have lightly confronted them with the idea of getting a smaller car, however I get slapped in the face with being "ungrateful" because I already do not have to pay for the car or insurance. Keep in mind I did not ask for such a new car, or the price it cost. I would have much rather had an older car that cost them less because I feel bad having them pay for me. There are plenty of civics in my area with less mileage then the car I have now and are much cheaper as well. Probably cheaper on insurance too.

So what do you all think about this situation? Should I try to approach them in another manner or just let it die and hope gas prices go down?

rgathright 05-01-2008 12:58 PM

Never hurts to talk to a salesman.

Drive up to a used car lot with a "gas saving car" you might like. Ask them what the drive out cost would be including trade. DO NOT GIVE THE SALESMAN YOUR SSN OR HOME PHONE. Also do not sign anything.

Take the cost to your parents, should be less than $2000 if your are truly looking for used gas sipper (a little Honda or Saturn), and see what they say. :D

We grow by making our decisions. Should be an interesting venture for you.

dosco 05-01-2008 01:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgathright (Post 97622)