Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   Hypermiling (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   Drafting with scangauge (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f33/drafting-with-scangauge-6662.html)

bowtieguy 11-08-2007 01:23 PM

Drafting with scangauge

had a chance today to draft a semi while using a scangauge. driving my wife's car(my car is not SGII compatible)gave me this opportunity. VERY interesting.

70mph avg ~29mpg no drafting. when drafting(i'm a truck driver, so i did so w/ mirror in view) again @ 70mph avg ~35mpg.

now, this is where it gets interesting. drafting, same speed, downhill(slight decline--not very hilly here), yeilded a high of 182mpg. WOW!

brucepick 11-08-2007 01:58 PM

Cool.
Thanks for the "hard numbers"!

I do draft sometimes when a good opportunity presents itself. I like drafting box trucks and buses; their back end goes lower to the ground than semis. I make sure to not get too close.

The tough part is, it usually requires some pedal work to stay appropriately close to draft the truck ahead. I make an effort to avoid going so fast that I end up with a reduced net mpg.

Hills - yeah. Once today I had to brake on a downhill because I was getting too close to the draftee up ahead.

cfg83 11-08-2007 02:05 PM

bowtieguy -

Yeah, downhill is VERY rewarding MPG wise. My imaginary perfect MPG freeway would have a Ferris Wheel scaled for cars on each end. You would get on the Ferris wheel, be rotated to the top, and would *always* be going downhill (if even only a gentle slope) the whole way. The other end of the freeway would have a Ferris Wheel for the opposite direction.

CarloSW2

8307c4 11-14-2007 04:47 PM

If you're going downhill you might consider an EONG (Engine OFF in neutral glide), that's technically unlimited mpg. I usually do this when I foresee at least 1/4 mile without the need for engine power, generally speaking a good 15-20 seconds or more, big long hills.