Fuelly Forums

Fuelly Forums (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/)
-   General Fuel Topics (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/)
-   -   lca13's 93 California VX Thread (https://www.fuelly.com/forums/f8/lca13s-93-california-vx-thread-4396.html)

lca13 04-27-2007 06:49 AM

lca13's 93 California VX Thread

Questions. Questions. I decided to just start my own thread for questions and any feedback I can give on things... I am a complete novice so far so I expect more of the former at first (although my shop vac thread idea wasn't too bad... :-)

So, first two:

Idle gallons per hour... I have seen figures for cars from 0.1 to 0.5 gph... anyone have an idea on a VX? FYI, mine idles very low... 300-400 RPM's... nice. Context is coasting engine off versus engine on in neutral... the latter seems much easier.

Mirror... how do I remove the driver's outside mirror? It looks to me like the plastic bolt cover on the inside of the car s removable, but it is not obvious how to do it (at least to me).

Thanks all..... this is the best site. Lance in the Bay Area

Matt Timion 04-27-2007 07:20 AM

Hey Lance... for the GPH I have no idea. It's probably in the shop manual somewhere.

I'm pretty certain that removing the drivers mirror is illegal. IMHO it wouldn't provide statistically significant gains. You'd be better off with a grill block, partial underbelly tray, or wheel well covers.

Glad to have you here :)

lca13 04-27-2007 09:35 AM

I have installed a side mirror in the inside and have been using that... the area of the mirror is nearly 5% of the total frontal area so I am interested in at least trying things with it off (some of the other stuff I alread have installed)

GasSavers_TomO 04-27-2007 10:46 AM