$79 5 wire O2 sensor - who has bought one? - Page 8 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 04:47 PM   #71
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Heh, cool. So it's the Lean Air Fuel Sensor. Is that part of the o2 sensor?
__________________

__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:48 PM   #72
Registered Member
 
jadziasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 324
Country: United States
Would someone please tell our less experienced 'savers to use the pdf helm manual! Okay I guess I will. The manual shows everything and is pretty good at instructing how to check codes with the service port off the ECU. SVOboy has a amateur mechanic's wisdom well beyond his chronological age.

All you need to do is google "honda civic helm pdf" and go down the list to the General Tech Help hit. Download and you've hit pay dirt. It works today so don't delay and download it!

Anyone who tries to repair a Honda without the helm manual deserves the trouble he got himself into. Hell, it's hard enough even when you've got one!
__________________

jadziasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:49 PM   #73
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Oh yeah, I should've mentioned the helms...sometimes I feel like I know too much for 19, but then I realize I know less than I did when I was 17,

Anyway, IM me if you want jace, I'm cruisur on aim.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:20 PM   #74
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Does anyone else want to corroborate on SVOboy's finding? TomO? What do you think?
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:30 PM   #75
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
Dude: You are being belligerent, stupid and ignorant. You want to pay your mechanic to fix the car, but want to beef, go beef at him. As far as experience, education or anything else goes, I believe I am as good as any mechanic you can find, only with a whole lot more education. Before you go blasting the folks that were trying to help you, you ought to consider the possibility that they might know a whole lot more than you think. The guidance you were given was solid, sound and based upon your information. Garbage in, garbage out. You wanted help, you got help. That help was not based on wild armchair whoopela, it was based on some hard core, hard learned experience.

Your pissed cause your mechanic did exactly what you were told to do, tough go find some other place to...
Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:32 PM   #76
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomO View Post
MY predictions:
  • You are throwing a code 42
  • You will dump your mechanic
  • The CEL being on is what is causing your non-hesitation issue (it's ignoring the O2 sensor now and running open loop all the time, decreasing your gas mileage)
  • You will go out and buy a metric socket and wrench set for cheap
  • You will be able to work on your own car through our help
  • You will be able to save a sh*t-ton of money doing it all yourself
  • The high idle is either a messed with idle screw or vacuum leak, trust me!

Once you get the CEL taken care of (either get your mechanic to re-install the old one once he SOLDERS the old wires back on the old sensor or buy you a new one from Honda), turn the idle screw clockwise until it is snug (once the car is warmed up). Then turn it counterclockwise until your tach is reading about 600RPM without the climate control fan, A/C, radio, lights or anything else on in the car.
I did buy a socket set. It's a bunch of metric sockets with an extender. I'm ready to work! heh. I want to uninstall my ECU and install the new one. I can use my socket set for that?
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:44 PM   #77
Registered Member
 
garyhgaryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 172
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1993CivicVX View Post
Can I do any damage if that isn't correct?
The plugs can only go in one way and in the specific connector.
So, I doubt you can damage it esp if you're careful. Just to be
paranoid, ground yourself....
Gary
garyhgaryh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:46 PM   #78
Registered Member
 
garyhgaryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 172
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1993CivicVX View Post
First thing I do is I turn the key to the on position, right?

I then take a metal paper clip right? Does it have to be metal or will an insulated one work? I bend it to make a U shape? I stick the two ends into either hole in that blue thingmajig?

Correct?

I then take my video camera and film the flashing lights and tell you guys what they did. And let you guys decipher. Thanks.
I use a paperclip.
garyhgaryh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:57 PM   #79
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogncatboy
Have you reset the ecu (do this after checking for codes)? Just pull the fuse to it for 10 seconds or so and replace. Good luck.
How do I locate that fuse? Thanks.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 06:00 PM   #80
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
It's in the fusebox under the hood, look around til you see something that looks like a fusebox, should be on a shock tower.

Also, you can just disconnect the battery.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer help/suggestion waterboysh Fuelly Web Support and Community News 10 12-14-2012 04:38 PM
Synthetic Bad for the TSX rh77 General Fuel Topics 41 11-30-2006 01:02 PM
Hello GasSavers_scostanz Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 7 06-25-2006 08:37 PM
Conversion successful Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 12 05-18-2006 03:24 PM
If this don't get you pulled over then I don't know what will. (PICS) Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 13 04-12-2006 09:53 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.