88 Civic D15z1 Swap, Getting Engine Code 16 What could it be? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 04:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
88 Civic D15z1 Swap, Getting Engine Code 16 What could it be?

So i swapped a d15z1 in my 88 civic sedan. I managed to convert it to mpfi, got most of the bugs worked out and finally was able to get the car started to where it stays on. I keep getting engine Code 16, which means its a fuel injector problem. I ran through the diagnostic check in the 92-92 honda civic manual (same as 88-91 civic manual except no resistor box is needed and resistance is different) and i get to the last part where it asks me to try a different ecu. I have a P07 which corresponds to that engine, and i substituted the edu with a P13 (OBD1 Prelude, which i know works fine) and the car starts as ussual but i still get Code 16. Now i know that it might be related to the fuel pressure and the main relay.

I re-soldered the relay, but it showed signs of having been repaired in the past. this didnt fix the problem.

The only thing i can think of now is the fact that i have not changed the fuel filter and that i used the 88 civic fuel line, i just twisted it so that it would fit correctly, Could the fact that i didnt use the VX engine fuel line cause this problem? Ive been meaning to get a fuel pressure tester but im not sure what to look for when purchasing one.

has anyone had this problem, or know how i might be able to fix it?

Thank you in advanced.
__________________

8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 04:50 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
FormulaTwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 118
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to FormulaTwo
i would check your wiring to the fuel injectors
i guess it could be the injectors themselves
__________________

__________________
Order some golf shoes, otherwise we might never make it out of this place alive.

FormulaTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 04:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
Well, i went through the diagnostic and i get voltage both at the injectors and at the ecu. But for some reason i still get code 16.
8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 04:58 PM   #4
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
I got that code once before too, and it was solved by resetting the ECU.

The main relay might be a culprit,, as might the injectors. I'd recommend cleaning them individually and seeing what happens.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 05:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
How do i go about cleaning the injectors? Also, if i where to buy a noid light to check for signal which one would i buy? Would it be the one for the bosch plug style?
8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
What injectors are you using? The stock VX ones or ones from another honda?
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 07:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
I supposedly bought a jdm d15z1 and i am using everything that was on it. Although the injector plugs appear to be from a obd2 engine. The engine looks exactly like the one below except not as oxidized.



As you can see, that engine (which is just like my engine) has obd2 plugs. Would it cause a problem if i am using obd2 injectors with obd1 ecu? Could that cause error code 16?

As i come to find out, honda also made a d15z (not d15z1), i am not sure if that was also called vtec-e but it was an obd2 engine (present on 96 and newer engines only). Its hard to tell because they were all stamped d15b. If this is so, it means my engine has 130 hp and not 92, defeating the purpose of swapping my engine because i wont get the fe i wanted.... Anyone has any insight in this matter?
8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 11:28 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 541
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Civic8
has anyone had this problem, or know how i might be able to fix it?

Thank you in advanced.

Beats me , but maybe this helps.

onegammyleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 02:04 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 541
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Civic8
I managed to convert it to mpfi,.
You converted a single throttle body injection to multipoint EFI without a computer change ? ? ?
onegammyleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 11:29 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 49
Country: United States
No, i did change the computer. I am using a P07 as i stated in my opening comments.
__________________

8Civic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gearbox dropdown greyed out; missing engines? synergist Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 09-05-2013 08:48 AM
126 mpg! Draigflag General Fuel Topics 4 08-20-2009 10:10 PM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Car stalls when idling and A/C is on Matt Timion General Maintenance and Repair 7 05-20-2006 04:32 AM
New Camry Hybrid... cool display! Matt Timion Hybrid Vehicles 6 01-19-2006 05:29 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.