Honda D15B7 to D16Z6 swap - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2008, 11:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 55
Country: United States
Honda D15B7 to D16Z6 swap

I have a chance to purchase a 93 Civic DX with a blown D15B7 really cheap. I also have access to a good D16Z6 engine for free. How hard would it be to swap the D15B7 out and the D16Z6 in? Is it s straight forward swap? Would the D16Z6 make decent gas mileage if mated to a CX/VX trans when installing the engine?
__________________

GasSavers_Lincoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 02:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 336
Country: United States
its a direct swap, no fab work needed. hardest part would be the the shift linkage pin and the axle nut if you dont have air tools.

the gas mileage would suffer a bit, since its a 1.6 vs a 1.5. i have a z6 tranny on a b7 motor, got about 45 mpg combined when i was doing 70% highway 30 city
__________________

civic94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Only thing you'll need to add for the vtec motor is a vtec ECU and a few wires for the vtec to properly engage.

The dimensions are the same, and it will bolt in 100%.
__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Well Dan that is not entirely true. I am in the process of doing the same swap in my '88 CRX. The D16Z6 is 7/8" taller. Anyone trying this swap may need to modify their hood as I have.

I do however have a question. I am running the D15B7 ECU. It is chipped to run the electronic Z6 Dizzy, and I have an RPM activated switch for the V-TECH. I am just wondering if that is enough or if I actually need to find a new ECU.
ReX-Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Loserkidwac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Loserkidwac
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReX-Rocket View Post
Well Dan that is not entirely true. I am in the process of doing the same swap in my '88 CRX. The D16Z6 is 7/8" taller. Anyone trying this swap may need to modify their hood as I have.

I do however have a question. I am running the D15B7 ECU. It is chipped to run the electronic Z6 Dizzy, and I have an RPM activated switch for the V-TECH. I am just wondering if that is enough or if I actually need to find a new ECU.
The RPM switch isn't the proper way to activate vtec..the motor will switch over to the different cam lobes but the ecu won't be adding fuel like it should...are you OBD1? if you are running the D15b7 ECU (P06) if so then the ECU can be converted to run vtec and chipped with the proper fuel and timing maps...also I've never heard of anyone having to modify there hood for the z6 swap in an EF?? Thats interesting...
__________________
MPG Noob

03 Mazdaspeed Protege
91 Honda CRX Si
95 Honda Civic VX *RIP 5/20/08
94 Honda Del Slow D15z1 Swapped
Loserkidwac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:04 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Country: United States
Umm.. It was my understanding that v-tech was designed to lean out the AF ratio to make more power.. Dumping more fuel into a motor makes it slower.. That is simple mechanics. But yes I had to build a custom fiberglass hood because the valve cover on the motor actually sits about an inch higher, so i had to make a cowl induction hood for it. Non-functional of course. Maybe its just the cover that I am using. Not too sure.
ReX-Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 06:02 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
thornburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 162
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReX-Rocket View Post
Well Dan that is not entirely true. I am in the process of doing the same swap in my '88 CRX. The D16Z6 is 7/8" taller. Anyone trying this swap may need to modify their hood as I have.

I do however have a question. I am running the D15B7 ECU. It is chipped to run the electronic Z6 Dizzy, and I have an RPM activated switch for the V-TECH. I am just wondering if that is enough or if I actually need to find a new ECU.
An '88 CRX came with a D15B6, not a D15B7... The B7 has twice as many valves...

Also, since the Civic in question (1993) was available with both motors, I would think there will be plenty of room under the hood.

(All info came from Wikipedia).
__________________
thornburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 06:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Loserkidwac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 160
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to Loserkidwac
It will fit fine in a 93 civic...Rocket what mounts are you using? its very odd, the z6 has sit perfect in any EF I have seen out in these parts...I imagine the B18b in my CRX currently is taller then a z6 and I have no clearance issues...also do some more research on "vtec" v-tech is a phone by the way...the rpm switch is not the proper way, it should be ECU controlled, the rpm is just a hack way to get it to work...either convert to OBD1 or get a PW0 or PR3 ECU chipped to run the z6 or us BRE to use a PM6 ECU for vtec, good luck with your swap...
__________________
MPG Noob

03 Mazdaspeed Protege
91 Honda CRX Si
95 Honda Civic VX *RIP 5/20/08
94 Honda Del Slow D15z1 Swapped
Loserkidwac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:01 AM   #9
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReX-Rocket View Post
Well Dan that is not entirely true. I am in the process of doing the same swap in my '88 CRX. The D16Z6 is 7/8" taller. Anyone trying this swap may need to modify their hood as I have.

I do however have a question. I am running the D15B7 ECU. It is chipped to run the electronic Z6 Dizzy, and I have an RPM activated switch for the V-TECH. I am just wondering if that is enough or if I actually need to find a new ECU.
you mean anyone trying this swap into an 88 crx. it is a direct bolt in to a 92-95 civic sans vtec wiring and even then, some years have the vtec wiring there so as long as the engine harness is from a d16z6 it can be a direct bolt in swap
__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 07:10 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Country: United States
never heard of the hood being too low. had a d16z6 in my 89 civic wagon no problems.
__________________

turbowagonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fix for a wonky Civic speedometer basjoos Experiments, Modifications and DIY 2 05-14-2012 07:31 PM
Gaslog comment: Price per gallon? not user friendly. GasSavers_Ryland Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 07-06-2007 01:38 PM
A radiator door for the grill block basjoos General Fuel Topics 26 04-20-2006 07:51 AM
Ever wonder how wind will effect your mileage? Lots of interesting Prius info krousdb General Fuel Topics 4 02-08-2006 08:49 PM
Friction Reducer kjvman General Fuel Topics 1 01-22-2006 07:52 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.