Shift points changed? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 01:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
Country: United States
Shift points changed?

There is this small downhill after a stop sign that I ride every day. A few months ago I would always get a shift into 4th gear at 32mph. I never get that same shift anymore? I keep the same throttle as I always did, I never can get that shift. Is there some "AI" computer that adjusts when my car shifts according to my driving habits?

It's a 97 Civic ex

Also, when I first got my car from the 1st owner a year ago, it would downshift out of overdrive on a certain hill on the highway. After a week or two it completely stopped doing that. Perhaps adjusting to my driving style?

Weird

I just hope there isn't something going on in my transmission. I checked the fluid and it's fine. I had a complete tune up down a year ago as well.

Sometimes I just want to trade my auto for a manual. But I really hate the idea of a stick when I'm in traffic.
__________________

GasSavers_veloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:13 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
It's probably just adapting. With the '96 model year, Honda added components to the Civic's automatic trans that give the ECU much more direct control over the transmission. In addition to typical control programming, the ECU got "Grade Logic Control" which is supposed to help with ascending and decending inclines in the D4 shift position.
Here's the basic service manual info:
__________________

GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 12:16 PM   #3
Supporting Member
 
Hockey4mnhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 760
Country: United States
Do you know if my car 93 accord has the same learning software?
__________________
Hockey4mnhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 03:14 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 26
Country: United States
Wow, I never thought it was that advanced and complicated! Thanks.
GasSavers_veloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 03:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_bobski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 463
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockey4mnhs View Post
Do you know if my car 93 accord has the same learning software?
I only have the manual for the '93 CC7... I don't see anything about grade logic or other adaptive control. The '94 Accord CD7/CD9 appears to have been equipped with grade logic in some regions.
Looks like you missed it by a year. The wiring diagrams for the two transmission computers look nearly identical. The grade logic TCM gets an atmospheric pressure signal, and outputs an interlock control unit signal that the non-grade logic TCM lacks. Maybe you could upgrade?
GasSavers_bobski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:08 PM   #6
Supporting Member
 
Hockey4mnhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 760
Country: United States
HMMM i might look into that thanks for the info
__________________
Hockey4mnhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 11:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Country: United States
could be that you just need to re-teach the ECU your driving style. I was able to get my ECU to tweak the autotrans down to 2k rpms for the shift points if im easy on the gas. I can hit 4th gear at 35 mph with no problems.

Just clear out the ECU by disconnecting both of the battery cables and then touch them together or ground them both out on the car. Then just let it sit for 10 minutes or so to let any residual energy discharge and the memory to clear. Hook all that back up and with the car and engine completely cold start it up and let it sit and idle with no accessories turned on until the car warms up and kicks the engine fan on. Shut off the car. This should give the ECU a chance to learn all the current enviromental settings such as ambient air temperature, any mods to the car such as air intake, ect ect. Once the car has cooled back off, take it out for a spin and drive it like your grandmother stole it... err... for FE. the slower you get up to speed the lower it will try and shift to the next gear (within reason and limits of your ECU programming). Do this till you hit the normal operating temps and then drive for about 10 more minutes. After this, just keep up those normal driving habits for about the first 50 - 100 miles.

its well worth it assuming your ECU can handle it. Gotta love Honda/Acura
__________________
Now, I ride the Eternal winds once more! And none shall ever be my master!
LastBoyScout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 12:49 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
shatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 345
Country: United States
Hah! My Tundra would be in 5th at 32 MPH.



But it wouldn't get as good mileage as you.
__________________
I use and talk about, but don't sell Amsoil.
Who is shatto?
06 4.7 Tundra replaced a 98 Dakota 3.9.
623,000 miles on original engine and transmission, using Amsoil by-pass filters and lubrication.
+Everybody knows something you don't know.
+Artists prove truth can be in forms you don't understand.

Low-Risk Option Trader
Retired Pro-Hunter featured in; 'African Hunter', by James R. Mellon III. and listed in; Rowland Ward's Records of Big Game.
shatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:25 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Thats an intriguing idea. I will look into that.
http://www.GasSaverTips.net
__________________
Gas Saver Tips
GasSaverTips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:41 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by GasSaverTips View Post
Thats an intriguing idea. I will look into that.
http://www.GasSaverTips.net
Jay said it well in another thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2TheRescue View Post
We're not interested in paying for your report, only to find out its nothing we don't already know. Thanks for stopping by and dropping your link though, you're probably the 5th or 6th today.

-Jay
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with odometer MPG (Incorrect calculations) skymera Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 11-26-2012 11:51 PM
I can dream can't I? MnFocus Aerodynamics 23 05-19-2008 05:28 AM
Tow trucks, not in China! Spule 4 General Discussion (Off-Topic) 6 12-25-2006 09:51 PM
Really interesting read... Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 0 02-07-2006 04:59 AM
What does a coil do? Matt Timion General Maintenance and Repair 5 11-28-2005 08:56 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.