A couple of UX suggestions for fill-up form - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2015, 10:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Country: United Kingdom
A couple of UX suggestions for fill-up form

There's a few things on the new fillup page which annoy me and make it take longer to complete.

For one, I wish I could select the cost unit - it defaults to / $ when I'd rather it display in pence (or cents), so I can just type, for example, 105.9 instead of 1.059. Just about all UK petrol stations indicate prices in pence per litre, even though they're over 100p.


I wish I could complete the time box without having to insert a hyphen - that'd be a timesaver when using my phone's soft keyboard. A simple regex replace should be able to add a colon to the submitted input.
__________________

synergist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 01:02 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Thanks for the suggestion. We have quite a few UK users, even a couple that are pretty active on the forums and this is the first I've seen of this suggestion.

If a few others wouldn't mind chiming in, we can definitely look into making the adjustment to better accommodate our user-base.


As for the time, where are you entering a hyphen? Did you mean ":" (colon)?
I show you're primarily entering your data via the web, but you mentioned you're viewing the site from your mobile device. Have you tried Fuelly Mobile (m.fuelly.com)?

Also, taking a look at your fuel-log, I noticed you're marking nearly every single fill-up as a Partial/Missed. Is this intentional?
__________________

RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 03:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,483
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
Right up until 2009/10 fuel had always been under 1 a litre, so 88.9 pence per litre etc. When it started going over 1 they just left everything as it was, so it became 110, 120, 130 pence per litre instead of 1 and 30 pence. I cant actualy remember if there is a decimal on the display signs now, but either way, however fuelly asks for it, thats the way I like it, but I guess everyone has thier own way of doing things.
__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Thanks for the background info Draigflag!

I'll pass this along to see if it's something we can change. I cant promise anything at the moment but it will be considered.

We should have a fix for the timestamp that the colon is autofilled fairly soon though.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.