How can I override the fuel tank capacity? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2013, 04:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: San Francisco, CA
How can I override the fuel tank capacity?

The standard 2013 Suzuki GSXR-600 has a tank capacity of 4.5 gallons. However the California model has a tank capacity of 4.2 gallons. That means the MPG I'm seeing are under-reported.
__________________

sammy5001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 302
Country: United States
Location: Nebraska
How do you figure that? Nowhere does Fuelly ask for tank capacity. It asks only for fuel consumed. If you go 75 miles and burn 2 gallons, it will report 37.5 mpg. It doesn't matter whether the fuel tank holds 3 gallons or 30.
__________________

Charon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: San Francisco, CA
Fuelly only asks me to report how much gas I put in. Without knowing what the total capacity is, how can it tell how much gas I burned?

The only way to tell is to take total tank capacity and subtract from it how much gas I just added to fill it up full. Alternatively it can assume that however much gas I put in in the first fill up is the total capacity but I've tried arbitrarily changing that and it doesn't affect any stats. Then the conclusion is that Fuelly must have a database of how big each car/bike's tank capacity is.
sammy5001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:09 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 329
Country: United Kingdom
>Then the conclusion is that Fuelly must have a database of how big each car/bike's tank capacity is ...

Nope.

>... Without knowing what the total capacity is, how can it tell how much gas I burned? ...

The gas that you put in, is the gas that you burned. I.e., you start with a full tank of whatever-gallons. You drive 75 miles. You fill it up again with 2 gallons. Hence you drove 75 miles on 2 gallons.
MMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,486
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
You've got it all wrong. Fill up, go use some fuel, fill up again and the figure you see on the pump, be it 2 gallons or 10, is the fuel you've just used to do the miles you've just done. You have to brim it each time to get accurate figures. Get it?
__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.