MPG's not calculating correctly - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2014, 12:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: Vancouver, Wa
MPG's not calculating correctly

My mpg's in my red truck aren't great but I'm not getting 1 or 6 mpg's! My last 2 fuel ups aren't calculating correctly. Also, in the upper right it states my best mpg's for my truck was 33mpg which is impossible, and when I look for that on the graph it's not showing it there either. Please fix that also. All the other vehicles are calculating everything correctly.
__________________

baroquenstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 06:59 AM   #2
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
When I view your truck's page, I see 13.9 as your best mileage. Check your entries, make sure your decimal places are in the right spots, and edit as required. 16.44 gallons to go 17 miles sure looks like 1 MPG to me. Maybe you meant to enter 170 miles?
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 07:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: Vancouver, Wa
That's the thing though, my last 3 fuel ups I recorded the odometer reading as I always have. They are 4844, 5105, and 5336. The 5105 fuel up I put in 16.438 Gal and the 5336 fuel up I put in 17.525 Gal. It's not calculating correctly. That last fuel up comes up to about 13mpg according to my calculations.

Edit: I just had a thought and figured out what's going on. Basically with this old truck that's been restored, my odo rolled over and was looking at a very similar odometer reading from 2010 and using that to calculate with the current odo reading giving mileage readings of 17 miles etc. I went back and just deleted these old posts and it recalculated the mpg's correctly! You may want to look into that for others with odo's that only go to 100,000 miles and then roll over to 0.
baroquenstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 08:23 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Location: California
Yeah I'm actually having a similar issue and not sure how to go about fixing it other than just creating a new vehicle for the same car. My old speedometer broke around 230k and now my new one has reached the 200k range and its saying I'm getting 14 miles between my last fuel up (202318) and my most recent one (202555) Definitely not 14 miles, so I'm assuming it's calculating from the last time I was around this mileage. I have waaaay to many fuel ups to just go back deleting them one at a time so if the;rs any other solution besides just creating a new vehicle let me know please.
MistahJuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 07:55 PM   #5
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Arrow

What I do with my older vehicles, such as my 1981 Buick that have exceeded 100,000 miles is just add the 1 in front of the odometer reading when recording the mileage, even though its not displayed on the odometer.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.