New vehicle with zero miles? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2015, 05:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: Arkansas
New vehicle with zero miles?

I want to use the "odometer" method.

I bought my new motorcycle with 0 miles on it and I hauled it home on a trailer. On the way home I stopped by a gas station and filled up the tank.

For the first entry on Fuelly, I want to put in the tank capacity (3.7 gallons) and the cost of the fuel per gallon and zero miles.

I can do everything but the zero miles part. So if I put one mile in there the "tracked" odometer on my account will be off by one mile.

A simple solution would be to allow the first fillup to allow zero miles.

Here is what I would like to see:

Code:
1 20150430 000.00mi-odo 000.00mi-fillup 3.700gal 00.00mpg $2.569/gal
2 20150501 158.00mi-odo 158.00mi-fillup 2.412gal 65.51mpg $2.569/gal
3 20150502 263.00mi-odo 105.00mi-fillup 1.575gal 66.67mpg $2.569/gal
Or am I doing it wrong?

Thanks!
__________________

Xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 05:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: Arkansas
Here is a picture of the problem I have. It should tell me that I am tracking 263 miles but it says 262 instead. That means my OCD kicks in, plus some of the MPG calculations will be slightly off. (Not sure which ones!)

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fuelly.png
Views:	124
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	1765  
__________________

Xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 05:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: Arkansas
Here is the data I have entered so far, with the 1 mile offset:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fuelly.png
Views:	134
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	1766  
Xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 08:06 PM   #4
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I would just ignore the first fillup and assume that the motorcycle came with a full tank of fuel.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 08:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2TheRescue View Post
I would just ignore the first fillup and assume that the motorcycle came with a full tank of fuel.
If I do that it "ignores" the first fillup and only tracks from the second fillup.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	130
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	1767   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	123
Size:	85.3 KB
ID:	1768  
Xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:13 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
Fuelly is just going to ignore the first fill up odometer anyway. It gave you a 0mpg for the one mile entry. It needs a second reading entered to calculate distance. The first fill is to get the starting baseline at an odometer reading with a full tank of gas.

You are running afoul of Fuelly trying to prevent erroraneous entries. It is extremely rare for a vehicle to have 0 miles on the odometer by the time the first owner gets it and registers it here. Friend of a friend has a Grand National SS he bought new and trailered home. Still has the plastic on the seats, I've been told. Between all the moving onto and off of transports, the car still had about 4 miles on the odometer.

So you have three choices.
1. Just leave the first entry with an initial odometer reading of 1 mile. This means your first calculated fill(the second entry) is off by about 0.8mpg, but it will have less and less impact on the lifetime average overtime.
2. If you don't want that error in your data, do as Jay says and just start with the your second fill for the Fuelly profile.
3. Ask Robert or another administrator to make your 1 mile enrty a 0. A suggestion that motorcycles be allowed to have a 0 mile initial odometer reading wouldn't be a bad one.
trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:28 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Country: United States
Location: Arkansas
I ended up using the "tripmeter" method and leaving off the first fillup.

I didn't want to use the tripmeter method but I will adapt.

Now all of my data is correct which was my main goal.

Gabrielle (Yamaha YZF-R3) | Fuelly
Xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 06:06 AM   #8
BDC
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 274
Country: United States
The odometer reading will not be off if you put an initial fillup with one mile on it and zero or .001 gallons filled. Odometer logging does not add up the miles from each fillup, it just takes the most recent odometer reading.

This should probably be in the FAQ if it's not already.
BDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 07:13 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,485
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Mid Wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xyzzy View Post
I ended up using the "tripmeter" method and leaving off the first fillup.

I didn't want to use the tripmeter method but I will adapt.

Now all of my data is correct which was my main goal.

Gabrielle (Yamaha YZF-R3) | Fuelly
I prefer the trip meter method anyway, if you skip a few fill ups it makes no difference. If you skip just one fuel up using the odometer reading, then you have to check the "missed fuel up" box and then wait another two fuel ups until your data can be calculated accurately again.
__________________

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 04:38 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Why doesn't Fuelly simply allow for adding in miles since last fillup instead of Odometer reading? I never track the odometer, i always reset my trip meter at the pump.

Then i simply look at how much distance I've traveled and divide it by the amount I pumped in back to full to get my MPG.
__________________

rook2pawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.