Numberpad on iPhone - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2011, 06:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 46
Country: United States
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Numberpad on iPhone

Number pad on iPhone "app"

Would it be possible to make the number pad come up when enterning numerical date (i.e. mileage, cost, etc)

Here is a screenshot when entering in fuelly, it is the usual number/symbol keyboard.
http://db.tt/H8iz8260

Here is a screenshot from my gasbuddy app showing the numberpad
http://db.tt/6T9lJuqP

I'm not sure if it has to be an actual app to do this or if you could somehow edit the html or css to denote a numberpad instead of the number/symbol keyboard.

Thanks!
__________________

vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 06:55 AM   #2
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
Yeah, only native apps have access to that keyboard. We can't do it from a web app, and I'm not sure we'd want to. You need to have a period to enter decimal places.

Just out of curiosity, how do you enter a decimal on gasbuddy?
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 46
Country: United States
Location: Parkersburg, WV
lol, yeah I just noticed the decimal is missing.... In gasbuddy it uses the last two digits as your cents and it natively adds the .009 marker (I've never seen a gas station that didn't price gas that way lol)

So if you enter 325, it will insert the decimal as 3.25

But I am fairly certain I have used other apps that have a decimal on the keypad, maybe gasbuddy edited it out. It's in the bottom left, where the blank spot is.

Nonetheless, it can't be done. Unless you guys want to roll out an actual app

Thanks for the response though.
vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:11 AM   #4
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
ahh ok, yeah, I can see how adding the decimal automatically should work for US prices. I think it'd be tougher for some other countries and odometer or tripometer readings.

I believe that keypad is called the telephone keypad for dialing numbers and having a decimal is not standard. (Some developers have hacked a decimal into that space, but there's no word on whether it was approved by Apple.)

After a little digging, I found that we can force the telephone keypad in a web app, but again, no decimal is a non-starter there. We have people all over the world using our mobile app, and we don't want to limit things. We could detect that you're in the US and serve it up, but switching between keypads for the various fields would end up being more confusing than helpful, I think.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:25 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 46
Country: United States
Location: Parkersburg, WV
I see. It's actually a telephone keypad and as such doesn't have a decimal. Yeah, it wouldn't be much better to have to switch just to add the decimal. And I can understand not forcing the decimal.

Thanks for looking into it.
vr4Legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:30 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: Purcellville, VA
It seems to work great when coming in on an Android phone. That actually surprised me, as I figured since it was a web app it wouldn't be able to dictate a keyboard version to use, but numerical here. Is it just the nature of the iProducts being locked down that it wouldn't work?
Daveydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:12 AM   #7
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
No, it's not that iProducts are locked down. The numeric keyboard works great on the iPhone. What vr4Legacy wanted was a specialized keyboard that includes numbers only. That is available to web apps on the iPhone, but we don't want to use it because there's no period on that special keyboard. So with that one you can't add a number with a decimal place.

We'll stick with the standard numeric keyboard. Glad to hear it works on Androids too.
pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 04:35 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Country: United States
Location: Ventura, CA
Don't mean to drudge up an old topic but this is actually why I came to the forum today.

What about a separate field on each side of the decimal point?
ChrisM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 12:15 PM   #9
pb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,588
Country: United States
Location: Corvallis, OR
nah, I think the extra taps required to move over to a separate field are worse than having a few extra keys on the keyboard.
__________________

pb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.