Why does this forum require so much user information? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2013, 09:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_HyperMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Country: United States
Why does this forum require so much user information?

I'm just curious. Also, why are all the pre-loaded avatars car company logos? I thought we were dissatisfied with the inefficient cars these companies continue to produce!
__________________

__________________
HyperMPG.net
GasSavers_HyperMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I don't know about what information you're finding objectionable... Maybe you can be a bit more specific there. As far as the avatars goes, I was kinda bored with the sparse default selection that came with vBulletin one day, and decided to upload a bunch of car logos for people to use. You still have the option to upload your own avatar, and most people do that, but there's more selection for those that choose a preloaded avatar.
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_HyperMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Country: United States
Thanks for the explanation! I think I was kindof spoiled by my most recent registration. Thinking about it a bit more, the info you ask is reasonable but I was kindof taken aback when I was prompted to enter my age the very first thing.

Thanks for starting the site! We need more websites like this.
__________________
HyperMPG.net
GasSavers_HyperMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
alvaro84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 215
Country: Hungary
Location: Fehérvárcsurgó
Damn you HyperMPG Now I had a look at these data and I found that I just can't set them correctly. I live in none of the North American states/provinces, and the drop box has an empty setting indeed, but the checker doesn't let me finalize my choice if it's not among the 'existing' ones.

Edit. it'll be Michigan for now. It's an insider joke from another forum. Everything is Michigan, with the possible exception of Virginia.
alvaro84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:24 AM   #5
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Well, its nice to know that Virginia is different. I'm not sure yet whether or not that's a good thing though.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:30 AM   #6
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Ok, I looked at the user profile fields, and indeed, only US and Canadian locations were listed. I added the following choices to the user location field:

Europe
Asia
Australia
Central America
South America
Africa
Antartica

This basic list should be able to take care of most everyone.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:40 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
International Space Station.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:14 PM   #8
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I don't think anyone is out hypermiling cars on the ISS...
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
alvaro84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 215
Country: Hungary
Location: Fehérvárcsurgó
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2TheRescue View Post
I don't think anyone is out hypermiling cars on the ISS...
Oh, there must be other devices out there to hypermile

Thanks for the 'Europe' option
alvaro84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 05:44 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by alvaro84 View Post
Oh, there must be other devices out there to hypermile

Thanks for the 'Europe' option
The Stephen Colbert Treadmill.

"I just reduced my energy usage on the treadmill by 20%!"
"I think you are missing the point of the treadmill."
__________________

trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happy Earth Day! shatto General Discussion (Off-Topic) 0 04-23-2011 05:37 PM
EGR Box Compatibility daygobaker General Maintenance and Repair 10 12-07-2009 01:43 PM
Heeeeere's Your Senator shatto General Discussion (Off-Topic) 3 07-07-2009 09:19 AM
Popular mechanics technobable tomauto Electric and Solar powered 2 09-21-2006 10:11 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.