ScanGauge 2 Idle RPM Question - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2008, 03:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 139
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to jeep45238
ScanGauge 2 Idle RPM Question

When I've got the key to on, but the engine not running, my RPM shows 61. I know it's pretty trivial, but it's annoying.

Does anybody know about any setting to change this? I haven't been able to find one in the manual. The gauge is about a month old.
__________________

__________________
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well armed sheep contesting that decision.

jeep45238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:37 PM   #2
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Did you setup the engine displacement in the settings?
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 139
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to jeep45238
Yup. Engine size, fuel tank were set. I don't know the fuel cut off so I left it as is, and the tire size is 1 mph off at 65 mph (not enough for me to worry about).

The engine RPM of 61 with the engine off is aggravating at times though.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and a sheep deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well armed sheep contesting that decision.

jeep45238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 04:03 PM   #4
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
The cutoff value is only to help the SG detect DFCO. In most cases it is fine at the default. If you do change it, it should be your idle TPS reading +4.
Mine annoys me too. It says I'm using .2 gal/hr while the engine is off.

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 11:44 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2TheRescue View Post
It says I'm using .2 gal/hr while the engine is off.

-Jay
No wonder the Beast doesn't get good mileage. Even if you drive it 4 hours a day that leaves 20 hours at .2 gallons per hour, 4 gallons shot to hell and didn't go anywhere.
__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 11:59 AM   #6
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
LOL, I am hitting the EPA highway rating driving in stop & go city traffic. I think the .2GPH is due to the SG guessing the fuel rate, instead of being able to read it directly from the engine computer. I'm not getting 12 and 13 MPG anymore. That's over a 30% increase so far.

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 08:24 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2TheRescue View Post
LOL, I am hitting the EPA highway rating driving in stop & go city traffic. I think the .2GPH is due to the SG guessing the fuel rate, instead of being able to read it directly from the engine computer. I'm not getting 12 and 13 MPG anymore. That's over a 30% increase so far.

-Jay
That's a good improvement, but just think of the mileage you'd be getting if you weren't using .2 gallons per hour with the engine off.
__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 08:59 AM   #8
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
If that was truly the case I would not have been able to go 18 days between fillups on my last tank. Not driving it at all and using .2 GPH I should have used 86.4 gallons of fuel in 18 days. I drove 293 miles and used 20.9 gallons of fuel. I think when not running its just showing its internal "fudge factor" for interpreting the OBD data.

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:53 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
I'll have to check and see what mine reads with engine off. I use it in the '97 Escort which I seldom drive so I really don't know.
__________________

__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I calculating this right? stumeston General Fuel Topics 8 12-15-2007 08:56 AM
Timing chain and FE bowtieguy Experiments, Modifications and DIY 22 11-11-2007 09:48 AM
New 91 CRX DX 5 speed from Arizona UfoTofU General Discussion (Off-Topic) 30 10-09-2007 07:12 PM
cool little car boofighter General Fuel Topics 10 06-03-2007 07:55 AM
Ethanol-gas mix is a problem for Franklin ketel0ne Automotive News, Articles and Products 8 08-26-2006 09:36 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.