33mpg VX, A/C on, highway miles going 80mph - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2008, 06:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Country: United States
33mpg VX, A/C on, highway miles going 80mph

I've got a 92 vx, its been tuned up to oem specs with a new o2 sensor. Have a cali ecu L00. Right now getting about 33mpg all highway miles. 80mph w/ ac on. Does this sound right or should I be getting more? Whats everyone getting using their a/c?
__________________

Lsturbo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
vxdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to vxdude
Wow whats your rpms at? 3,000? I run about 55mph and get 55mpg. But yes that does sound about right.
__________________

vxdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:55 PM   #3
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
its a little low... but not really bad. whats your tire pressure like?
__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
1993CivicVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,066
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to 1993CivicVX
RPM at that speed should be around 2700RPM. 33MPG seems a little low, but if you are running the A/C on high than it could be normal. Do you keep it in 5th gear while driving at 80mph? I don't use my A/C enough to give you numbers, but I think if you have it on low (1 or 2 fan settting) it shouldn't effect the numbers too much, but I suppose at higher speeds it could have more of an impact as its sapping some much needed power at those speeds.
__________________
three stripes the charm!

Car mods are overrated. Just gotta adjust that nut behind the wheel for best mpg.



Forget about World Peace...Visualize using your turn signal.
1993CivicVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 72
Country: United States
Location: Littleton, CO
I agree with notjared, I would expect 10-20% better than that. Its a little hard to compare because you have one of the few Cali versions here. If it runs and idles ok otherwise, I don't think I would worry about it. But check those tires.
nowhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 08:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Country: United States
Yea, I have 15" 99 SI rims right now and the previous owner put power windows on it so its a little bit heavier. my rpm at 80mph is around 2700 rpm. I also have to downshift when the a/c is on going on slight uphill.
Lsturbo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 07:08 AM   #7
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lsturbo91 View Post
Yea, I have 15" 99 SI rims right now and the previous owner put power windows on it so its a little bit heavier. my rpm at 80mph is around 2700 rpm. I also have to downshift when the a/c is on going on slight uphill.
hmm....downshifting to go up a slight hill? thats not right. what is the tire pressure????

fyi the si wheels are maybe 1 lb. lighter than steelies. and the power windows wouldnt effect your mpg on the highway by any noticeable measure.
__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 10:29 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisntjared View Post
hmm....downshifting to go up a slight hill? thats not right. what is the tire pressure????

fyi the si wheels are maybe 1 lb. lighter than steelies. and the power windows wouldnt effect your mpg on the highway by any noticeable measure.
I could stay on 5th gear no problems without the a/c on. If it's on I need to downshift.
Lsturbo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 12:43 PM   #9
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
that is weird... was the unit ever replaced?
__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 01:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisntjared View Post
that is weird... was the unit ever replaced?
no, but I think its a product of the a/c compressor taking up power from the motor not necessarily a/c unit being defective. After all we do have a dinky 1.5l with tallest gearing ever
__________________

Lsturbo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Combined totals of all my vehicles? nizationpcs Fuelly Web Support and Community News 0 03-30-2009 07:41 AM
Is there a OBDI or OBDII conversion for older vehicles? kozaz General Fuel Topics 3 11-13-2007 08:32 PM
How far do you drive daily? OdieTurbo General Fuel Topics 56 03-31-2007 02:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.