Fuel Economy Gauge? - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 04:17 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion View Post
This isn't true. Yoshi (the inventor) found a magnetic sensor that you can attach to your axle in lieu of an electronic VSS that he said will work with the SuperMID.

Hopefully he can chime in here.
I think I found what you speak of. I read on this forum somewhere (cant find it now) that I need 4 pulses for every tire rotation. Is this true?

Also, can the Supermid be calibrated for different tire sizes?



Areodynamics is a problem for this truck for sure. Im thinking about taking the passenger side mirror off, as well as the roll bars off. Leaving the tailgate down does nothing, correct? A big drag for me is my 5 foot CB antenna. Its staying but I do have a spare 4 footer I might replace it with if I start doing alot of highway miles.
__________________

__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:27 PM   #12
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba Bob View Post
I think I found what you speak of. I read on this forum somewhere (cant find it now) that I need 4 pulses for every tire rotation. Is this true?

Also, can the Supermid be calibrated for different tire sizes?



Areodynamics is a problem for this truck for sure. Im thinking about taking the passenger side mirror off, as well as the roll bars off. Leaving the tailgate down does nothing, correct? A big drag for me is my 5 foot CB antenna. Its staying but I do have a spare 4 footer I might replace it with if I start doing alot of highway miles.
I will send Yoshi a message and tell him to answer your questions.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 04:30 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion View Post
I will send Yoshi a message and tell him to answer your questions.
Hey Matt, thanks but I just fired one off to him,
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 06:35 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Hi Bubba and all,
Thank you for your interest in my SuperMID and PM.

* fuel usage measurement
Please note that there are a lot of types fuel injection system.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fuel_injection
The SuperMID measures the pulse width signal of one of fuel injectors.

- MPFI with high impedance injector works best.
- MPFI with low impedance injector needs special circuit.
http://www.gassavers.org/showpost.ph...4&postcount=16
- TBI with a single injector works good.
http://www3.telus.net/metro/mid.htm
- TBI with dual injectors does not work since SuperMID has only one onput.
(I think the each injector has different characteristic.)
- Continuous injection like Bosch's K-Jetronic does not work.
- Electric carburetor does not work.
- Diesel injectors does not work, I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba Bob View Post
ALrighty, I found a cheap eletric VSS. Its one that mounts magnets on the axle (I assume). It comes with four magnets. (judging by the picture) Is this what I need?

Link:

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
I can't find any detail specifications about it, and can't judge whether it works or not.

* distance measurement
- recent Toyota and Honda vehicles have digital clean VSS signal.
- The standard is 4 pulses/rev of speedometer cable or 2548 pulses/km, or sometimes 4000 pulses/mile.
- We need special filter circuit for a mechanical switch VSS, which produces a chattering and noisy pulse, like installed on landspeed's Nissan.
- For those which does not have any VSS, I can supply mechanical switch VSS for Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi, Mazda and Daihatsu with the filter circuit.
http://www.gassavers.org/showpost.ph...9&postcount=17

Regards,
Yoshi
GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 07:09 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
caprice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 114
Country: United States
Since you have TBI, you should have an electronic VSS. And just because your speedometer is mechanical, you still may have a VSS. My Caprice had a mechanical spinning cable that want to the speedometer, but it has a pickup that reads off the speedometer is the VSS.
__________________
David
85 Chevrolet. 30 MPG or bust!
caprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 07:15 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Hmmm, I dont remember ever seeing threads on my VSS line. Ill check tomorow.

Do you have any info on that magnetic setup Matt mentioned?
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 07:16 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by caprice View Post
Since you have TBI, you should have an electronic VSS. And just because your speedometer is mechanical, you still may have a VSS. My Caprice had a mechanical spinning cable that want to the speedometer, but it has a pickup that reads off the speedometer is the VSS.
THanks Caprice. Ill look into that.
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 08:24 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 73
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba Bob View Post
Do you have any info on that magnetic setup Matt mentioned?
I explained it on the post...
http://www.gassavers.org/showpost.ph...9&postcount=17
It is 4 pulses/rev and works with the SuperMID.
I don't know what kind of connecting thread standard Ford uses.

Yoshi

GasSavers_Yoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 03:13 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi View Post
I explained it on the post...
http://www.gassavers.org/showpost.ph...9&postcount=17
It is 4 pulses/rev and works with the SuperMID.
I don't know what kind of connecting thread standard Ford uses.

Yoshi

Ah, didnt realize that was the magnetic setup. No, that deff. wont work. I was just told my truck has an electric VSS for the computer. Im about to look for that.

If my truck does have the electric VSS, will it even work since the supermid is designed for 2 times as many pulses as what mine probably will give? (according to a source, my should pulse 8000 per mile)
__________________

__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
epa estimates cseverens Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-09-2010 04:48 AM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Missing Fuelup jmonty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 05-27-2009 05:10 AM
Pulse and Glide? Pete7874 General Fuel Topics 24 02-26-2009 12:11 PM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.