How does everyone set their timing? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 01:02 PM   #1
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
How does everyone set their timing?

When I swapped dizzies I left my timing way retarded, and now I'm just going to stick it "in the middle." Do most people just use timing lights or just BS it like I do?
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 04:54 PM   #2
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
When I last had a car that I

When I last had a car that I could change the timing on(Saturn has no distributor), I would advance it to the point where I heard the idle speed go up and start to get slightly rough. I would then back it off(retard) until the idle smoothed out. Then I would only snug the bolt down and take it out for a drive and see how it ran. I would put it into high gear at about 30-35 and see if/how much it pinged. If it was more than just a few very slight pings I would stop and pop the hood and retard it just a bit more. The car seemed to have about the best power and mileage this way.
__________________

__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 12:42 PM   #3
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
If you're OBD-1, jump the

If you're OBD-1, jump the diagnostic connector and use a timing light.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 12:46 PM   #4
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Will I have the diagnostic

Will I have the diagnostic connector considering I was originally obd0?
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 12:47 PM   #5
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Hmmm, I doubt it. Perhaps

Hmmm, I doubt it. Perhaps someone with an OBD-1 Civic, a meter, and about 30 minutes can help you out?
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 12:49 PM   #6
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Haha, I've already abused

Haha, I've already abused jared's time enough, I figured I'm good enough where it is right now, I was planning on tuning it to the point where it started pinging and then drop a degree off.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 05:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
i also attended the

i also attended the diamondlarry school of timing adjustment. i figure i'm 3-5 degrees advanced over spec.

i have no idea if it's actually helping though. another scangauge test on the list...
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 06:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to molecule
you have to ground your ecu

you have to ground your ecu pin d7
thats the service check connector (not the datalink)
i'll go doublecheck that pinout...
just did this for another conversion guy...

A23,A24,A26 & B2 are all the common grounds that meet at your thermo housing ground on the back of your block...
one is also the stock ground for the service check connector
any will work

__________________
BE ZEITGEISTED
molecule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 06:13 PM   #9
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Sweet, I'll keep that in my

Sweet, I'll keep that in my memory, thanks. I'm so good at depinning ecu plugs now!
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 06:16 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to molecule
also i have a bad habit of

also i have a bad habit of editing my posts after making them
so always check back for updates...
if its a bad error on my part...you'll see a new post...
read this post again in a couple minutes after i confirm the pinout...
thanx...

nope...its D4...service check connector
this is also the pin to ground to check your ecu for codes
since you haven't done this since your mpfi swap...
i'm expecting you may find something concering your idle

D7 is the datalink connector...
__________________

__________________
BE ZEITGEISTED
molecule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could you add? blackfive Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 01-11-2011 08:07 PM
Log your Cycling/Running on Fuelly? kclark987 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 09-21-2010 02:57 AM
Missing Fuelup jmonty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 05-27-2009 05:10 AM
Aerodynamic secrets revealed! Compaq888 Aerodynamics 4 06-28-2006 07:22 PM
BMW C.L.E.V.E.R. Concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 4 04-24-2006 11:59 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.