New to this site, have a few questions. - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 09:58 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
DarbyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 376
Country: United States
Premium, unless called for (usually for higher compression engine or advanced timing), is actually harder to ignite (that is why high compression engines require it to fight detonation or pre-ignition). It does no good at all unless it is preventing detonation. Otherwise you want to run 87/89 octance (89 if you are getting some pinging under acceleration) to get complete "explosions". I know some will say different but that is the reasoning behind higher octane levels. Put in 87 octane and consider the savings added mpg$.
__________________

__________________
2006 Jeep Liberty CRD...Founder of L.O.S.T.
OME 2.25" Lift w/ Toyo Open Country HTs 235/75/16s
ASFIR Alum Eng/Tranny/Transfercase/Fuel Skids
2002 Air Box Mod...Air Tabs (5) on Roof...(3)each behind rear windows
Partial Grill Block with Custom Air Scoop and 3" Open Catback Exhaust
Lambretta UNO150cc 4 Stroke Scooter



DarbyWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 10:06 AM   #12
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
I need to clarify my earlier post. The only way that higher octane would improve your FE would be if your car has a knock sensor and is detecting detonation. As DarbyWalters mentioned, the only reason to use higher than 87(if that's what your car calls for) is if you have pinging on 87 in which case you likely have carbon deposits that need cleaning out.
__________________

__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 08:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
BumblingB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 341
Country: United States
Location: NW Florida
Save your money and just go with OEM plugs, jack up the air in the tires, switch to 0-20 synthetic oil AND.....drum roll please........GET A SCANGAUGE!

IMO opinion the Scangauge is the best mod you can do as it will help you modify the one thing that most people overlook when making mileage mods ---- The Driver. You'll become fixated on your mileage. Try it and see.

I also went with the racing disc caps on my old Metro, but some people are opinionated about how they look. I love them though, and my opinion is the only one that counts - just kidding.
BumblingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 11:46 AM   #14
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
Country: United States
Noob problem!



I decided to replace the spark plugs today (OEM as suggested), since the old ones were filthy, but after doing so, the car won't turn over.

I made a dummy move and didn't pay attention to which spark plug wires went where, so I have a feeling I have them in the wrong spot.

How do I check where they are supposed to go?

I doubled checked the gapping, and they are correct.

It's a 3cyl engine.


Thanks for all the other suggestions guys, I think I will pick up a scan gauge so I can fine tune my cars MPG.
jBubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 11:50 AM   #15
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
Country: United States
O and BTW, yesterday I discovered my tired were horribly under inflated. one tire was at 18 psi, the others between 20 and 22.

Pumped my tired to 40 psi (tire says max should be 35psi) and will see how my MPG fairs.
jBubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:19 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
unstable bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 158
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to unstable bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by jBubb View Post
Noob problem!

I decided to replace the spark plugs today (OEM as suggested), since the old ones were filthy, but after doing so, the car won't turn over.

I made a dummy move and didn't pay attention to which spark plug wires went where, so I have a feeling I have them in the wrong spot.
Even if you installed the new spark plugs in your ears [ ] the car should still turn over. Spark plugs only fire the cylinder, not turn the engine over. Something in your starting circuit is amiss...[battery, starter, solenoid, cables, ignition switch, wiring, etc.]
__________________

__________________
unstable bob gable
AMERICAN ROAD WARRIOR!

www.unstablebobgable.com

1973 AMC AMX: The beauty
1987 Buick T-Type: The beast
2004 Cavalier: The MPG machine
unstable bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electricity / kWh fuel type kal Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 03-24-2011 03:08 AM
Avg MPG on Fuelly FrugalNYC General Fuel Topics 3 06-19-2010 01:05 PM
MPG correction... Hamie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 04-21-2010 05:11 AM
D15Z1 Swap Guide: Planning Stages SVOboy General Fuel Topics 0 01-14-2007 02:06 PM
n600 for sale lovemysan For Sale 16 10-23-2006 12:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.