Oil change, ScanGauge...what the dilly, yo? - Fuelly Forums
Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 05:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
theholycow's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Exclamation Oil change, ScanGauge...what the dilly, yo?

Today I bring you my latest half-baked alarmist reaction to what is probably a mundane arithmetic error...

I brought the VW to the dealer for an oil change. They were doing the full synthetic (using VW-approved stuff) oil change for $30 as part of a promotion. That's less than I pay for oil and a filter.

I disconnected the ScanGauge when I got out of the car at the dealer and reconnected it before I drove away. I checked the odometer when I went in and out. Main odometer read 30127 and trip meter read 400. When I left, I'm sure the trip meter read ??0.1, and I think I would have noticed if it didn't read 40?.?. The invoice read 30127 for "Miles in" and "Miles out".

Today I got gas because the car was on E even though the ScanGauge said I had plenty of gas left. The ScanGauge said I went 550 miles and used 13 gallons. The gas pump and odometer said I went 582 miles and used 14 gallons. In this car the SG is always accurate for miles driven and close for fuel used.

Did the ScanGauge miss something, did it lose its calibration when I unplugged it (it never has before) (I'll have to check), or did the dealer drive 32 miles and I didn't notice? They did take forever and other customers were in and out while I waited.

I'll have to try to figure out how many miles I've put on since the oil change and see if there's 32 miles unaccounted for.

This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:23 AM   #2
Site Team / Moderator
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,602
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia

My SG always screws up when I disconnect it.

I have to go through the entire calibration and setup sequence. Its a pain, because I had to go through a lot to make the SG work reasonably well on the vehicle, (w/o the SG resetting the clock and radio presets). I never did figure out how to make it properly register DFCO though...


Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,280
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
While I didn't disconnect it, I'm in the middle of recalibrating my SG because of some screwiness. The trip mpg it reported was close as always to the cars DIC and calculated results, but when I set the fill up, it was reporting more gallons added to the tank than possible. Around double what I pumped in.
trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! AlfieGT Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-22-2011 11:35 PM
WTB: VX Cluster limerence Wanted to Buy 1 05-28-2008 07:45 PM
Are these wheels worth it? Improbcat General Fuel Topics 17 05-24-2008 04:01 AM
Second odometer for WVO tank? Jetta90GL Vegetable Oil and BioDiesel 2 03-24-2008 12:17 PM
How far do you drive daily? OdieTurbo General Fuel Topics 56 03-31-2007 01:49 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.