tire air diflector MPG gain? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Aerodynamics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 12-13-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
Registered Member

tire air diflector MPG gain?

Has anyone got solid numbers on a gain from using the mod where a bent piece of plastic deflects the airflow around the tires? I'm thinking about doing some of those with some ABS plastic I have left over from this semesters projects. (I'm an Industrial Design Student and have access to lots of cool goodies)

Old 12-14-2008, 02:56 PM   #2
Registered Member

Got any pics or links to what you are planning?

I recall when i was investigating building an EV that deep dish rims were said to be pretty bad for aerodynamics and some guys would make flat wheel covers for their rims. (sorta like big flat hubcaps)

Daveedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 02:35 PM   #3
Registered Member

yeah
or more like
Old 12-15-2008, 06:39 PM   #4
Registered Member

like using mud flaps for the front of a tire. I have extended my airdam which has some similar issues to deal with.

you will have som scrub when you are going over speed bumps and also when going over different terrains. I suggest you use a material that gives some and isn't too rigid. also, make sure that it isn't long enough to get caught between the tire and the ground as to get ripped off. I can't see that being good regardless.

good luck with the experiment. also remember, you can always redo it if you aren't happy with the results of the first one. I used a trash can for my airdam and used some tin snips to cut it up. that gave me a pretty thick piece of plastic/rubber (about an eighth of an inch) and the trash can was only about 15 bucks. for you, there would be plenty left over if you wanted to use it for other projects.

GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 11:14 AM   #5
Registered Member