92 Eagle Talon - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 08-25-2007, 12:05 PM   #1
Registered Member

92 Eagle Talon

Hello,
I know this car does not come stock with good gas mileage. I am wondering what sort of modifications I can make to the vehicle to increase its gas mileage. I have seen a similar car which claims to get 40 mpg. Basically, I want to know "how can I do that?" I am brand new to this subject, so please take that into consideration. It is currently a stock AWD Turbo.

Thanks in advance!
Donovan

GasSavers_Donovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 10:51 PM   #2
Registered Member

Welcome, Donovan. GasSavers has a member with a 90 Laser. Don't know how similar that may be to yours. His car is turbocharged and he beats 40 mpg regularly. I know he works hard at it. His member name is DRW and he is willing to share what he has done. You can find his posts by searching DRW.

http://www.gassavers.org/search.php?searchid=135483

CO ZX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 11:42 PM   #3
Supporting Member

Donovan -

Welcome to GS! Like CO ZX2 says, DRW is your man.

CarloSW2

What's your EPA MPG? https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 09:35 PM   #4
DRW
Registered Member

Hi Donovan,
Welcome to the site! My motor is almost all original with 217k miles so far. I've replaced the oil pump, water pump, crank bearings, rod bearings, valvestem seals and springs. The head has never been off, still using original pistons+rings. I've done some mild bolt on mods which are listed in my profile.