Shut down for my first time today! - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 06:11 PM   #1
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Shut down for my first time today!

Wanted to last night, but got scared. In any case, when I started up I had a big puff of smoke so I'm thinking no more shutting down at lights until I fix my IACV. However, it was wonderful, thanks all for inspiring me to be great!
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 06:47 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
philmcneal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 333
Country: Canada
lol didn't know you took the

lol didn't know you took the plunge, congrats!
__________________

__________________
If your reading this, then good for you, your saving some gas because your here.
philmcneal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 07:05 PM   #3
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
With the auto it makes it

With the auto it makes it slightly difficult but I want to try to get into good habits for when I convert to manual. I changed my route to school and have been eliminating erroneous trips and keeping up with the walking everywhere that's in town within a mile and bla blah.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 07:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
zpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,225
Country: United States
Did you shut down and coast

Did you shut down and coast to a stop or just shut your engine off while you waited at the light? I was looking at the scan gauge today while stopped at a light and I was losing 0.1 MPG every 5 seconds on the overal trip MPG. I'm going to look at it a lot closer in the coming days and see if that stay the same. Any one else looked at the rate when stopped?
zpiloto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 07:50 PM   #5
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I need to buy a superMID so

I need to buy a superMID so I can see instant FE, but I can't afford it,

Anyway, just while I waited. Coasting in off with the autos is a no no, plus the lighta kinda popped right the hell out of no where.

Once I get the IACV fixed I'm turning the idle down a few hundred rpms for the heck of it, just for those times when I am idling.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 07:58 PM   #6
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
Re: Did you shut down and coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by zpiloto
Did you shut down and coast to a stop or just shut your engine off while you waited at the light? I was looking at the scan gauge today while stopped at a light and I was losing 0.1 MPG every 5 seconds on the overal trip MPG. I'm going to look at it a lot closer in the coming days and see if that stay the same. Any one else looked at the rate when stopped?
Yes, I've noticed that the "current trip" number goes down when stopped with engine off/key on. Luckily for me my Saturn's accesory position is in between the run and the lock position. Maybe that's another question I can ask the Scanguage people about.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:02 PM   #7
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I think he meant while

I think he meant while stopped and idling.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 10:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,325
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_Ryland
alot of stoplights around

alot of stoplights around here you can just see a little of the other stoplights color, so you can see the cross trafic's light change from green, to yellow, to red, and then your light turns green...
personaly, I like to coast to stop lights, and just keep running because most lights around here change rather quickly.
GasSavers_Ryland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 10:47 PM   #9
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Yeah, I can generally see

Yeah, I can generally see most lights out of the corners, and most lights are also quick, but a few (this one was a turnpike entrance deal) are several minutes long.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:37 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Re: I need to buy a superMID so

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
I need to buy a superMID so I can see instant FE, but I can't afford it,
Maybe there is something that we can do about that.
__________________

__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erratic MPG ironeagleuk Fuelly Web Support and Community News 17 02-03-2013 04:13 AM
Engine size?! DuckFeet Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-25-2012 10:58 PM
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Diesels are very efficent at idle? philmcneal Diesels 36 04-05-2007 07:25 PM
Just ordered some VX rims...... GasSavers_Jack General Fuel Topics 20 06-10-2006 07:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.