who's using OBD with a laptop? - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 03:01 PM   #21
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
If anyone has any experience

If anyone has any experience with mass airflow meters disco recommended using that and afrs to figure it out, also. Just something to throw out there.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:41 PM   #22
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
you're right, flatland - the

you're right, flatland - the scangauge doesn't measure actual flow, it's a calculation based on pulse width, air flow, displacement and other factors. that said, it's been pretty darn accurate for me (within 2% of "manual" calculations on the gas receipt at fill-up time).
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 08:15 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,978
Country: United States
Re: Question - when I get my

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaX
A short thing would be tesing whether driving at WOT in 5th is better than light throttle [is reducing pumping losses outweighed by a larger injector pulsewidth?].

Things like this I really can't wait to test out.
I think Hondas since the beginning of time are open-loop at full-throttle. I'd like to know this too as I drive my TL with the auto-stick, get into 4th as soon as I can, and mash the gas.

RH77
__________________
rh77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 05:47 PM   #24
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
FYI... been watching eBay

FYI... been watching eBay for about 3 weeks now for a used laptop-connectable OBD2 unit for proper data-logging ability.

kicked myself on friday because i missed out on a real deal: it went for $50 - and the only reason i missed it is because of a web/browser glitch at the crucial bidding moment (15 sec before the auction ended).

i don't really want 2 separate units. the scangauge is so convenient since it's self-contained, no muss, no fuss. i think i posted this elsewhere here, but i did write to the company to see if they would ever consider adding a USB/serial output, and they basically said no.

how hard would it be to add one? opinions of any electronics experts??
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 07:01 PM   #25
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:how hard would it be

Quote:
how hard would it be to add one?
Depends on the internal structure of the thing. OBD0 and OBD1 honda ecus it's as simple to do as adding a 25 dollar cable from radioshack because it's already set up with communications ports.

Prolly *** hard on the scanguage I'd guess though.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:34 PM   #26
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Quote:how hard would it be

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
Depends on the internal structure of the thing. OBD0 and OBD1 honda ecus it's as simple to do as adding a 25 dollar cable from radioshack because it's already set up with communications ports.

Prolly *** hard on the scanguage I'd guess though.
Wait, I thought you said it has to be chipped first to send the data? Which is it? Can I just hook up the cable to my obd1 ECU and get data from there?
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:02 AM   #27
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
It does have to be chipped

It does have to be chipped to send data, I was just museing on the fact that the communication port architecture, or lack thereof, is probably the biggest hassle when doing this.

The ecus have the communications port so it is just a matter of plugging in, whereas metro might have to create one (if that's possible) to even be able to access data.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 10:36 AM   #28
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
I think it's time to post

I think it's time to post pictures of PCB's!!!!!
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 11:29 AM   #29
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
you want to see the innards

you want to see the innards of the scangauge?
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 11:34 AM   #30
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
NM...for some reason I

NM...for some reason I thought your ECU was OBD-1...then I wanted to see a shot of its innards.
__________________

GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partial Fuel Up - Calc Improvement suggestion RadarKen Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 11-23-2011 08:17 AM
Expand the data stored dkidwell Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 10-29-2008 08:52 AM
allow sign-in with user name funkd00bi3st Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-11-2008 02:23 PM
Honda n600 on the east coast (Virginia) - $750 Matt Timion For Sale 1 06-19-2006 05:34 AM
Car, Van, and Light Truck Disc Brakes and Fuel Economy Matt Timion Automotive News, Articles and Products 0 10-03-2005 02:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.