Bought a Saturn - Page 4 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2007, 09:19 AM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 245
Country: United States
Well, I have replaced the plugs, wires, air filter, and starter. The idle did go down. It sits at maybe 8-900 when coasting at 30-35MPH. And will go down to 4-500 when at a stop. There is also no shake when idling at a stop at 400 whereas before there was a shake idling at 650 at a stop.

I am very happy to say the least . Now for an ignition kill switch so my locks don't unlock and lock every time I shut the engine off for a coast .
__________________

__________________
Fourthbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 12:13 PM   #32
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
There is a way to make the engine idle at 400-500 even while coasting. When the engine is fully warmed and it is idling, unplug the idle-speed control and the engine will always idle at the same speed whether you're moving or not. If you do this, you will have to ever so slightly press the gas pedal when you start the engine when it's cold. I did this with my SL2 last winter and had no significant problems.
__________________

__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 04:45 PM   #33
Registered Member
 
kickflipjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 933
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondlarry View Post
There is a way to make the engine idle at 400-500 even while coasting. When the engine is fully warmed and it is idling, unplug the idle-speed control and the engine will always idle at the same speed whether you're moving or not. If you do this, you will have to ever so slightly press the gas pedal when you start the engine when it's cold. I did this with my SL2 last winter and had no significant problems.
Interesting tidbit of knowledge. Would that work on a 95 sw2?
__________________
2008 EPA adjusted:


Distance traveled by bicycle in 2007= 1,830ish miles
Average commute speed=25mph (yes, that's in a car)
kickflipjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 04:51 PM   #34
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 245
Country: United States
Thanks for the tip, I may do that if it continues to bother me.
__________________
Fourthbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 05:02 PM   #35
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflipjr View Post
Interesting tidbit of knowledge. Would that work on a 95 sw2?
It seems like it would work since it is basically the same engine as mine.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 04:05 AM   #36
Registered Member
 
s1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Does something like this trigger a check engine light???
__________________
Paul B

s1120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 07:07 AM   #37
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
I never had it happen to me but my son, who drives the car now, has had it happen only once or twice. He just reset it with the Scanguage and didn't have any more problems.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 01:50 PM   #38
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondlarry View Post
I never had it happen to me but my son, who drives the car now, has had it happen only once or twice. He just reset it with the Scanguage and didn't have any more problems.
I have had mine set a code for too slow of an idle a couple times but it has not been a regular problelm.
__________________
usedgeo
usedgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:14 AM   #39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 245
Country: United States
Well, I have driven my car another 60 miles or so. The idle when put in neutral at highway speeds drops to ~600, jumps to 1100 for a second, and then drops back down to ~600 for good. Not sure if this means my idle controller is actually bad. I will leave it as is for now, doesn't bother me
__________________
Fourthbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 04:24 AM   #40
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 183
Country: United States
Well, its wasting fuel while it messes around, I'd say. There was a "still bad mpg" thread on Saturnforums where the IAC was the problem child causing bad mpg
__________________

cheapybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drafting 18-wheelers....revisited Brian D. Hypermiling 26 05-22-2007 02:51 PM
WTB - New England Area 2nd Gen CRX HF Tranny CHEAP UfoTofU Wanted to Buy 1 03-25-2007 07:02 PM
Biobutanol: Discussion in the UK rh77 Automotive News, Articles and Products 8 01-24-2007 07:08 PM
Belated Intro GasSavers_brick Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 4 12-22-2006 07:48 AM
hello GasSavers_nathan Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 3 12-07-2005 04:59 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.