How to build a low cost EFIE - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2010, 04:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
How to build a low cost EFIE

I know there is another thread about this same issue, but all the information had been removed by the original poster so since I found it on the internet I thought I'd post a link so anyone who wants to give it a try can benefit. The cost should be under $10.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEHJ9te7gvk
__________________

__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
I thought I'd update this thread. I have made one of the EFIE's, but haven't installed it on the car yet. I'll be using my 505K mile Escort for experimenting!!!! I did put a battery in it and tested to see how much I would be able to adjust the 02 sensor voltage and it gave me 0.0-0.54volts of adjustment so I should be able to lean out the mixture a little bit after doing a little testing to see where the voltage normally runs. I'll just have to be careful and not over do it. I'll start out small and work my way up until it acts like I'm getting in the detonation/danger zone then I'll lower the voltage back down. Looks like it's going to be a while before I get to do the initial testing and installation of the EFIE since we are still getting snow and having lots of weather that's colder than normal for us this time of year.
__________________

__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Don't test it on the 505K mile car! You have to see how long that car will last without any unnatural influences...
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Dr. Jerryrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 196
Country: United States
I second that!
Dr. Jerryrigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
I've got to try it on something and all the other cars are in much better condition with the exception of my wifes '87 Chevy Celebrity and she's against the idea of trying it on her car. I'm not sure, but I suspect if I get it too lean the ECU will kick it into open loop just as it does when the 02 sensor goes bad.
__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:01 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Dr. Jerryrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 196
Country: United States
the thing is with a false o2 reading the ECU may never know that it's too lean. I've wanted to mess with this, but i'm putting it off till i have a way of checking exhaust temp.
Dr. Jerryrigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
wouldn't the knock sensor be the safety for that? I would think that the knock sensor would protect the motor and the ecu would richen up the mixture to keep from getting detonation.....I think......maybe
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:03 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Jerryrigger View Post
the thing is with a false o2 reading the ECU may never know that it's too lean.
That's exactly the point of doing this mod.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:14 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Dr. Jerryrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 196
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
That's exactly the point of doing this mod.
Way to make me sound like a dumbass.

I was replying to this:
"I suspect if I get it too lean the ECU will kick it into open loop just as it does when the 02 sensor goes bad."
I have little faith that this will happen before the point of damage.
Dr. Jerryrigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 11:54 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
The EFIE has been installed now for just over 500 miles. The first fill up after installing looked terrible, (176.2 miles on 5.301 gallons or 33.23 MPG, worst fill up in my gas log) but I think I may have been turning the EFIE on before the car went into closed loop and may have been causing it to stay in open loop. As usual I am still topping the tank off and filling before the tank gets to the half way point. The last fill looked better than it has in months (197.9 miles on 4.908 gallon or 40.32 MPG). This still isn't as good as it was doing prior to changing the timing belt last summer, but it is a great improvement. I never did figure out why the mileage dropped after the timing belt change, but that's a different story. The car seems to be running fine without any signs of detonation and I think I still have a quite a bit of adjusting to do to the EFIE before I get to the maximum I can add, but I'm trying to move slowly so if there's any negative effects I know about what the maximum voltage is I can add to the 02 signal. The last tank was adding 125mA to the signal, when I filled the tank up I increased it to 150mA and according to the fuel gauge looks like the mileage has increase more, but sometimes this fuel gauge acts kind of crazy so who knows. I've been keeping a digital multimeter hooked up to the pre EFIE signal so I can monitor it to make sure the signal isn't running extremely lean for long periods of time, but I've also ordered an a/f gauge to hook up so I can see where it runs.

I'm also planning to put a hydrogen generator on it as soon as I can come up with the materials and time, hoping that even if the hydrogen doesn't help mileage it will allow me to lean it out further.
__________________

__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
total fuel cost for fill-up instead of price per gallon EmptyH Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-26-2008 12:14 PM
HHO & Fuel Heater Questions sethag General Fuel Topics 4 04-25-2008 06:25 PM
GMC Vandura 1994 Extended 2500 gas mileage heyheyhey General Fuel Topics 6 06-19-2007 07:40 PM
Electric bikes banned in Chinese city to make room for cars MetroMPG Electric and Solar powered 4 11-24-2006 08:29 AM
FYI theimagehosting broken full-size images, new policy? MetroMPG General Discussion (Off-Topic) 3 08-16-2006 09:31 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.