Scan Gauge 2 Gauges - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2007, 08:26 AM   #1
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Scan Gauge 2 Gauges

I used the TP gauge today on the SG2. At idle my van is at 12. One thing I noticed though is that there is 10mpg difference between 14 and 15. I think I'm going to use the TP gauge more often. Also how do you read the load gauge on the SG2? Does the number represent a percentage of the engine load?
__________________

__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 08:41 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Snax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 758
Country: United States
I'm not really sure where the load figure is derived from. I suspect it uses multiple input factors such as the oxygen sensor, throttle position, timing, and rpm to derive it, as it is not something directly measured by the computer.
__________________

__________________
LiberalImage.com

I think, therefore I doubt.
Snax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 08:59 AM   #3
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Country: United States
TPS on my Saturn is zero at no throttle. It's been a long time since I put the peddle to the floor, but I think it registers 100 at that point. I'll have to check to see if SG2 reports TPS with the engine off, key turned to "run".

When I moved, I rented a U-Haul (moving truck, for your out-of-Staters). It was a 2007 Ford so my SG2 worked. TPS at rest was 12%. Got 10.3 MPG for the 70 mile haul... 6.8L V8.
davidjh72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 09:31 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
TPS is throttle position and varies with the idle setting and the sensor adjustment. They are probably set to maximum to show 100% and the idle is whatever it turns out to be. Load (LOD) is the percent of power being generated from the total available at the present RPM. Seems my gearing in 5th runs in the 40-50% LOD value independant of speed so it seems they have matched the torque/power curve to the drag curve of the vehicle pretty closely.
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 09:40 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 513
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_Red
You'll also notice that when you are at WOT the TPS will only read about 75-77, rather than 100. My mom drives a Town and Country with I believe the same setup (3.3 V6 4 speed auto) and that is what the SG registers. Same thing on my Jeep. I figure its a Dodge ECU/Sensor thing.
__________________
GasSavers_Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 09:51 AM   #6
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Thanks for the input
__________________

__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Publishing Fill-up Stats from Mobile Site? smknipe Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-22-2011 06:27 AM
Price/Mile is very useful data Don65Stang Fuelly Web Support and Community News 8 06-15-2011 06:27 AM
epa estimates cseverens Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-09-2010 04:48 AM
99 civic ex (hello) requiem Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 6 02-06-2007 08:38 AM
Garage Update Rstb88 General Discussion (Off-Topic) 3 10-16-2006 10:07 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.