Annoying trying to top off tank - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 04:44 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 58
Country: United States
I use the same pump every time and when I get to within a gallon of what I expect the tank to take I pump as slow as I can until it clicks. For some reason the pumps at the station I use will overflow if I try to go more than one click. I really hate it when that happens...such a waste.

-- Scott
__________________

__________________
GasSavers_scostanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 05:09 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Quote:
Originally Posted by scostanz
For some reason the pumps at the station I use will overflow if I try to go more than one click. I really hate it when that happens...such a waste.- Scott
Yeah I pull the nozzle out a little at the end and guess what . . . it doesn't shut off when you do that DUH! Need a sight glass so I can see the gas level coming up to full.
__________________

JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 07:28 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 259
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by scostanz
I use the same pump every time and when I get to within a gallon of what I expect the tank to take I pump as slow as I can until it clicks. For some reason the pumps at the station I use will overflow if I try to go more than one click. I really hate it when that happens...such a waste.

-- Scott
Here I use the little "auto fill lever" The one that you pull the trigger and put the lever down to keep gas pumping while you wash windows and toss off of your trash in their garbage. It seems to fill up to the point of some splashing out just as it clicks off. Maybe I need to hand hold the trigger to prevent that. I wonder how much will fit after the click off. I will have to test that out.
__________________
See my car here:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2452824

GasSavers_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 10:34 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
zpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,225
Country: United States
I may start a firestorm here but why top off? If you?re using the same pump it should be consistent enough. I'd rather you have very slight inconsistencies in your gas log then spilling gas all over the place. Looking at the big picture does the extra mileage make that big of difference?


http://www.epa.gov/donttopoff/
zpiloto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 02:46 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Only on a 392 mile trip if I am short a gallon I run out 6 miles before I get there. Talk about cutting it close!
__________________

JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API - Revisted? shaneeckert Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 09-25-2010 03:41 PM
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
MID Install SVOboy Experiments, Modifications and DIY 33 06-04-2007 11:27 AM
Guests Online JanGeo General Discussion (Off-Topic) 2 03-15-2006 07:49 AM
Having some transmission problems. Compaq888 General Maintenance and Repair 22 01-21-2006 05:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.